Supporting Materials

Salma Alonso
2 min readJan 30, 2021

--

Survey Pitch:

Tell me about your clothes! I’m conducting an 8-question survey for my degree project that focuses on young adults and sustainable fashion.

Please consider taking a few minutes to fill out the survey — I’d really appreciate it! Thank you!

Survey Questions

Age range

[16–18 / 19–21 / 22–24 / 25+]

multiple choice

Climate change

[does not ever concern me / sometimes concerns me / concerns me often]

multiple choice

I would describe my clothing budget as

[non-existent / limited / comfortable / abundant]

multiple choice

I will usually acquire new clothes for the following occasions (choose top 3)

[interviews / parties / new semester / changing weather / weddings / vacations / functions / festivals /____]

rank order

When I acquire new clothes, I look at the following attributes (choose top 3):

[quality / versatile / price / timeless / convenience / unique / comfort / trendy / sustainability / fit ]

rank order

I probably wouldn’t pay more than $___ for an everyday outfit.

slider by increments of 10

The clothing I acquired within the last year are primarily

[second-hand, pre-owned / first-hand, came with tag / hand-made]

multiple choice

When buying a new garment, I research the company’s environmental impact

[never / sometimes / often / always]

multiple choice

Which store did your 3 most recent clothing purchases come from?

[____]

open-ended

Love Letter Pitch

Hello! I’m conducting research for my degree project that focuses on young people and sustainable fashion. Would you be interested in participating in a [love letter/break up letter] exercise that shouldn’t take more than 20 minutes of your time?

Please let me know if this is something you’re interested in or if you have any questions or concerns.

Interview Pitch

Hello! I’m conducting research for my degree project that focuses on young people and sustainable fashion. Would you be interested in participating in a 45-minute interview over Zoom sometime this week?

Please let me know if this is something you’re interested in or if you have any questions or concerns.

Interview Questions

  • Can you tell me about the clothes you’re wearing right now?
  • Can you tell me about your 3 most recent clothing purchases?
  • Tell me about a piece of clothing you’ve had for a long-time.
  • “When you hear the term “climate change,” what comes to mind?”
  • When you hear the term “fast fashion,” what comes to mind?
  • When you hear the term “sustainable fashion,” what comes to mind?
  • Have you had any experiences with any resources to shop sustainably?
  • What is your relationship with second-hand clothing?
  • What is the hardest part about shopping sustainably?

--

--